The Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) and Food Grade Lubricants


May 15, 2017

FSMA is making food companies responsible for documenting how they intend to take proactive steps to avoid product contamination. Manufacturers must conduct hazard analyses of known or “reasonably foreseeable” vulnerabilities in the production process where microbiological, chemical or physical contamination might arise. Once these are identified, the companies are then required to prepare written procedures describing how the hazards will be removed (and prevented from recurring), and also create and conduct employee training programs to prevent contamination from happening. These procedures must be maintained and updated on a regular basis, and immediately accessible to FDA inspection.

The following is a short list of current requirements under FSMA:

  • Written procedures
  • Third party certification
  • Storage and handling
  • Hazard analysis
  • Preventative controls for identified hazards
  • Record keeping requirements
  • Employee training
  • Verification and monitoring
  • 2017_Stoplight Logo_Rev_OL

    Clearly, there’s going to be a lot of initial work to be done to comply with the new regulations. However, there are many resources available for companies to insure FSMA won’t end up being a management nightmare. CRC is a resource that offers its StopLight™ Food Safety Program, a one stop compliance solution for front-line use of lubricants designated as “food grade” under current NSF standards. StopLight™ includes workplace posters, training modules and related services designed to help food manufacturers get ahead of the curve on FSMA implementation the importance of safe handling of lubricants.

    To learn more about FSMA you can also visit FSMA Food Grade Lubricants.